Scandals attract huge media attention which brings the related issue to public notice and scrutiny. It sparks a debate not only the concerned issue but other issues related with the scandal. Public involvement in a issue forces the authorities to take strict actions against the perpetrators and improve the system to avoid such situation in future. Through these strict actions, scandals create a fear in the public authorities and subsequently scandals acts as a restrain.

Scandals also erode the credibility of the public institutions among public and leads to loss of faith in the established institutions. One such example was the 2G spectrum scandal in India which bought to lamplight a corruption of USD 30 billion by government officials. This act diminished the faith of people in the ruling government in particular and democratic governments in general. The trust deficit led to shameful loss of ruling party in the subsequent elections. The role of media is also of great importance in such instances, a responsible media can use the scandal to educate the people regarding the issue at hand. However this hasn't been the case in many such scandals in which the media houses for their benefit published sensational and controversial stories and diverts the public attention from the main issue.

Scandals can never take the place of reformers and activists in raising awareness about problems. We should nurture a responsible media which would highlight the current issues of importance. Scandals are mistakes of society as a whole. Mistakes do teach us important lessons, but that does not mean we should commit mistakes just to learn from them, prevention is always better than cure.