Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this prompt presented, the author avers that, engaging the high school students in the community service would provide much needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help them to understand the importance of giving back to community. The author thus has come to conclusion: Pleasantville School Board should institiute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Here, at first glance the argument may look logical and plausible. However, going to thorough and careful study, the argument prove to be flawed for the numerous reasons which the author has overlooked.

Firstly, the author here uses the word like "several" , Recent Years", which seems to be confusing and even misleading. The author mentions that several organizations in the pleasantaville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. What does several refer here? It may be many, some or half of the organization, only two or three and whole. Thus, the word seems to be confusing and may lead to wrong information. Likewise the author also has mentioned that in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined. Here no exact date and time is provided which also lead to misinterpretation. As for instance the decline may have been two years ago , three years ago or else time, thus subsequently leading to the confusion. The argument would have been stronger had it provided the exact information and expressed the clarity of the terms and words used in the argument.

Secondly, The author here stated that the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined in the recent years. Here, The author has not provided the concrete reasons behind the decline in the number of teenage volunteers. The decline may be due to the lack of interest among the teenagers or the organization in the recent years has carried out more interesting and absorbing programmes . Also, other organizations besides Pleasantville started providing much more fascinating and effective programmes which attracted the teenagers there. Thus, these may be the reason in declining the teenager volunteers. If this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly threatened.

Likewise, The argument states that Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of the community. What about teenagers? The author fails to take the view or opinion of the teenagers. The case may be exactly the opposite that they might not agree to the fact and thus if it comes true then the argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to mentioned the above points then the argument may be more convincing.