Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument provides information about the reduced number of teenage volunteers participating in charitable events in Pleasantville. The author of the argument has used some assumptions to make his point and has claimed a possible corrective action on the issue. It is suggested, school board institute should implement a program which makes compulsory for students to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation. The assumptions author has made need to be evaluated further in order to come to a more solid conclusion about the corrective action.

At first, it is stated in the argument that their are opportunities available for teenagers to volunteer in charitable services, and in recent years the number of young students attending these services is declining. There are few gaps in this statement, for example exactly how many years of data is used to make this statement.It is not made clear, that for how many years, such charity events have been providing chance for young generation to take part in their events. It is possible that, few years back, young generation was not expected to attend charity services but they were doing it anyway. And increasing number of student volunteers made people think that it is good for students themselves and they should do it more frequently. After such increased expectation, young people attendance might have started decreasing. There can be various reasons behind the decline, which author needs to state clearly in order to further evaluate the argument.

Furthermore, it is also mentioned that teachers and parents agree, that it is important for young people to learn the value of community services. Though, there is a possibility that these people have their own ways to teach community values in their children and do not expect it from them to attend available charity services. There can be different reasons for parents and teachers to think that way. It is also possible that during recent years, the educational curriculum in schools have changed and effectively made students more busy, so that they do not find time to attend charity events.

Additionally, author's suggestion says schools should make high school students 40 hours of community service compulsory. It may or may not be possible for school boards to accommodate those 40 hours in student's schedule. It would have helped the author to bolster his suggestion, if he would have mentioned possible ways to make it feasible for students.

It can be concluded from above discussion that the assumptions and evidences author has used to support his suggestion, needs to have more supportive information in order to be acceptable.