Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

It is a good thought that people living in a developed world should act on the global climate change. Climate change is a issue which is adversely affecting life on earth. Thanks to the advancing technology, general people have more clear idea what climate change is and how it is going to change our future. Also, it is evident that people of developing countries and under developed countries usually follow the behavior of people belonging to developed countries. Hence, if people of developed countries change the way of their living in accordance to act on increasing environmental changes, individuals from other countries would surely follow them and a result help decrease the rising slope of climate change.

There are several reasons behind rapid climate change. Electricity generation and consumption on large scale is one of them. With growing population, day to day needs of people are growing. To meet the ends with these increasing demands, more efficient sources are found and utilized. Technology has provided us many solutions, for example electricity generation out of a nuclear plant. Now, this is a very efficient solution, but a recent example of accident at Fukushima nuclear plant gives us insight of the severe implications of having more such plants in order to meet our electricity needs. It is understandable that developed countries can have multiple nuclear plants to fulfill their growing electricity demands, but if governments of such nations think about the aftereffects on environment, and move towards energy source which are clean and less harmful for example, solar energy and water plants, it would be ideal for developing countries to use their example and act accordingly.

Furthermore, very small lifestyle changes like using sensors to make lights on and off, use energy efficient devices etc collectively will have more positive effects in order to increase efforts to slow down climate change. The more energy efficient we become, the more we will reduce our requirements, effectively saving environment.

Some people may argue about doing major changes in their lifestyle not being feasible compared to the climate change. As climate change is not a phenomenon which can be proved to someone with the help of some experiment, many people are reluctant to believe on whether or not it actually exists. Such people may argue that why to change one's life in saving something you are not even sure of. They may find it difficult and hence will not try and act on it. Sometimes it is very hard to change one's decades long habits in order to follow which they do not actually agree with. For example American people are used to not having switches to turn their electrical equipment on or off. If they change this small habit, considering overall population it will be very big effort taken towards environment safe lifestyle. But, for these people, it will not be small change, it will be a decades long habit, which they may find difficult to change, and thus, making the argument that it is not necessary.

Climate change a continuing phenomenon, with which we all need to adjust and try to improve our lifestyles accordingly. It is true that if citizens of developed countries take a lead into this, other people will surely follow them