Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this explanation linked health and climbing up stairs. His assumptions were based on two studies: The first study states that people, who are can use stairs only, have a better lifetime than those, who can use stairs and elevators. The second study reports that the number of old patients who have no elevators is the half of those, who have elevators. Moreover, he connected health and even longevity with exercise routine of climbing up the stairs. Before this explanation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered:

First of all, how many floors have buildings with elevators and without elevators? Many buildings, which have no elevators, are either old or have no more than 2 floors. On the other hand, a lot of buildings, that facilitate an elevator, provide no lifts for the first two floors. In this case, residents of these two types of buildings spend the same amount of effort. If this assumption has any impact on the first survey, this would weaken the connection between health and climbing stairs, as it generalizes the idea, which all residents of a building with a lift facility are using only elevators.

Secondly, what are the patients in the second study complaining about? For instance, two buildings in the same district, where a plumbing accident caused a disease in this area. One of the buildings has a lift, while the other has only stairs. A possible scenario that people from both buildings would visit the doctor because they might have the same symptoms. Generally, old people are more vulnerable to sickness, though the author of the explanation assumes that, the visits of grey-haired to doctors can be related to the usage of staircases. This assumption is critical, especially when any other explanation is provided.

Finally, what is the lifestyle of residents of a building, that has a staircase? Stairs climbing can be absolutely beneficial to health, even though it is too incapable to affect the overall health. For example, people, who choose a building without any lift, tend to have a fitness lifestyle. Thus, they are more likely to avoid junk food, practice exercise daily - other than stair climbing- , cook their own meals and expose themselves to fresh air on a daily basis. Therefore, they have a better health. So, stair climbing could be a factor in supporting health. Yet it cannot be considered as the main reason. As a result, the assumption is considered to be superficial to be taken as a proof of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, cannot be efficiently evaluated due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If this explanation to be clearly evaluated, the questions above must be answered, then and only then a concrete evaluation could be credible.