Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument mentioned, the author referred to a recently completed study that shows how more healthy are the people who live in stairs-only apartments compared to the people who live in apartments and use elevators. In his build of the argument, the author made some assumptions to solve to his conclusions that are questionable of their representativity of the effect stairs have on people of different ages.

first, we see that the author pointed to results of the study such as the frequency in which an elderly visit the doctor and the average life time of people who use stairs compared to those who use elevators. In such evidences, question has to be raised about the financial status of every participant in this study. that is, in general, affluent people are more likely to be living in apartments with elevators than the less wealthy people, therefore, if the study is made on people who are chosen only on the basis of the kind of apartment they live in regardless the financial state of them, it is likely that the study contains more wealthy people in the category of apartments with elevators and less wealthy people in the category of stairs-only apartments. so, In such a case, it would be obvious that for example more wealthy people would have the financial ability to make visits to the doctors more than the less wealthy, and also wealthy people are would be more likely to have a healthy lifestyles as they are able to subscribe in fitness programs of health programs than poor people and this would be the cause of the results of the study, not the effect of the usage of stairs.

Moreover, the author also did not mention the nature of the study in terms of the place where it took place and the number of people observed in it. it is probable that the study was conducted in two different areas, for example in villages and cities, given that people living in stairs-only apartments are easily found in villages and the people who live in apartments which have elevators are more easily found in cities. In such case, the reason behind the more healthy indications in the lifestyles of persons who live in stairs-only apartments wouldn't be the usage of the stairs as concluded in the argument, instead, it would be the nature of the life in the village, where people are exposed to pure air and are less stressed than people who live in cities. so, it is important for such a study to be made in one place where people live in one environment to be more reliable.

In conclusion, at the first glance, it may seem that the conclusions made by the author are plausible and veracious. Nevertheless, a deeper look at the study which the author relied on to deduce these conclusions, it may seem questionable in terms of the way it where conducted. More facts about the conduction of the study would make the argument more substantiated and cogent. that is, the people observed must be very close in the lifestyle and only differ in the usage of the stairs.