Statistics gathered over the past three decades show that the death rate is higher among those who do not have jobs than among those with regular employment. Unemployment, just like heart disease and cancer, is a significant health issue. While many health care advocates promote increased government funding for medical research and public health care, it would be folly to increase government spending if doing so were to affect the nation’s economy adversely and ultimately cause a rise in unemployment. A Healthy economy means healthy citizen

The following points must be noted in regard to the given passage. It says statistics show that death rate is higher among those who do not have jobs than the ones who have jobs. The postulate might just be a co incidence. The reason might also be due to improper construction and maintenance of roads, no regulating authority, issuing licenses at ease, corruption etc might also be the factors affecting it. Hence, a consolidate report covering diverse factors must be made in order to know the actual cause of these accidents.

The passage also states that healthy economy means healthy citizens. This assumption is flawed in many ways. We are provided with no insight to the demographic conditions of a place, nor the level of efficiency of governance, developmental policies, health care methods etc which play an important role in determining the health of its citizens. Mere improvement in money or economy doesn’t necessarily indicate the level of health of people.

Unemployment need not necessarily be a health issue. There might be citizens who are very healthy and might still be unemployed. There may be people who are employed but have a severe health issue. Hence, we cannot confidently say that unemployment is a health issue.

The passage also says that increased government funding towards research and public health care would affect the nation’s economy adversely there by unemployment. We do not know how much capital is being currently spent towards research and public health care. If the amount is too less, then there is definitely a need to actually increase funds so that better knowledge of the existing problems can be traced and solutions can be developed.

Hence a comprehensive analysis must be made involving all the factors leading to the problem and answers must be developed.