In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The author argues that the reading preferences of the people in the two studies have discrepancies because the interviews were misleading. However, the argument seems unconvincing in-depth analysis as several logical fallacies and a hasty generalization appear in this one.

To begin with, the data about the researches and the studies are very limited. The text lacks in strong analytical data and cross-referencing. There is no “bloody quantification”. How many people took part in the studies, what was their age, profession, education? For example, middle-aged and elderly people prefer classical literature while teenagers are more prone to reading fantasy and other entertaining books. The well-educated population also differs from simply educated by their habits.

The next lacuna is that the argument lacks the indicated periods when similar studies were conducted. One of them could have been done 30 years ago, while the other quite recently. Tastes change and it is a rookie mistake to compare studies from different times. 30 years ago, there was no internet and people read predominantly paper books. In addition, paper books were simply cheaper. Today in the technological century, the majority have adapted e-books, so the number of people going to libraries has decreased greatly.

In addition, if the debater wants to explore the readers of Waymarsh who attended public libraries it is necessary to present the recordings from the library, which would present people's preferences in reading. There is a hasty generalization problem because the author tries to extrapolate two small and possibly unreliable studies on all the citizens of Waymarsh.

To make this argument more reasonable it is recommended to provide statistical data and evidence-based comparisons of both studies/surveys, to indicate names and professions of the researchers and take all the points mentioned above into account.

Finally, it is obvious that the conclusion drawn by the writer is very cursory and does not have a proven foundation.