Suggestion to increase weather and local new

The manager of the television station is suggesting to bring back the weather and local news to cut the complaints from the viewers and bring back cancelled advertisements with the news channel. However the manager fails to make a cogent case with his statement.My reponse would be as follows:

In making this satement you have assumed that switching over to national news has caused a withdrawal of the advertisers and there is no other cause. However, such statement needs corroboration if to be believed. Hence, it is important to figure out the exact reason for the backing out of the advertisers through surveys and data.If there is to be found another reason for the withdrawal then your argument is significantly weakened.

The argument also assumes that the customer complaints and withdrawal of the advertisers is something which initiated after the decrease in the time to local and weather news. However if such problem have persisted from the time before such changes were made then the argument is flawed.

The argument also does not rule out the possibility of reverse causality, i.e. the complaints and advertisement withdrawal may have been the cause for reduction in local and weather news in the first place

Also about the complaints, I would ask you to give the specifics of the complaints. Do the complaints specifically ask for an increase of the time of broadcast of local or weather news or do they pertain to other issues related to the same. If the complaint never really ask for increase then the argument posed here is dismissed.

The solution to the problem presented is very specific and fixed. However to tackle with any problem a variety of solution may be possible, hence if the problem as mentioned in the argument is to be found existent, a wide variety of solution must be sought considering the pros and cons of each with the existing situation at hand before finalising on the solution. Hence before suggesting the solution of restoration i would ask you to perform a feasibility study of the problem and elucidate on the possible potholes in the solution.

After all the fore mentioned assumptions hold to be true we could go ahead with the proposed solution. But other solutions should be taken into consideration before selecting a solution.Hence overall the argument must be well supported and corroborated before going with a solution.