Same curriculum for all students until college

The given statement makes a very strong claim, which is implement a uniform national curriculum for all students untill they enter the college. I substantially disagree with this statement and the basis of its formulation.

To bring out the vices in the statement, let us consider hypothetically that such a system is implemented throughout a nation. The problems that such a implementation brings forth is multifold,state as follows:

- Such a system demolishes the diversity of interests, backgrounds and thinking within the student community.

- It does not account for the diversity in terms of religion, location, ideology and race within a nation.

- It does not fulfill the aspirations of everyone taking part in the system. Hence more often than not it is incomprehensible

- It does not specify goals for an individual.

Specific examples of the fore mentioned points are

- In any pool of students, everyone has their own aspirations and interests. Hence it is difficult to accomodate all this is a fixed and unflexible system. Hence, for someone with varied interest, such a system becomes a deterrant for his/her dream and goals.

- Also it should not be made necessary for everyone to follow the same set of courses, formats if their interests lie elsewhere as it may lead only to a paucity of time for activities which they actually like.

- Such a system also destroys free thinking as everyone is made to think the same way. In such an environment it becomes difficult for an iconoclats to find like minded and be appreciated.

However, implementing such a system also comes with certain advantages

- It creates uniformity in the society, giving way to easy controlling.

- It fostered a common judging scale for everyone, hence promotes clear and concise ranking in a society

- Can be used to dictate the ideas and emotions being absorbed by the society and hence ensure no spread of detrimental/ destructive ideas.

- It leads to easy management for the authority

In all of these points, I conclude that for any nation to grow a lot of emphasis must be given to individuality and free thinking, hence such a system although it comes with benefits for the authority would only be detrimental to growth of nation and should be carefully implemented if at all.