SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author suggests that Supercorp's decision that moving his headquarters from Middlesburg to Corporateville is the best decision. At first glance, the argument seems persuasive; however, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to conclude that this argument is flawed on many grounds.

First, the author assumes that the recent surge is because Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg. However, since the author does not prove any relationship between the surge of Corporateville with Middlesburg, we cannot correlate those two cities. Also, it is hard to say that the surge is due to advantages of Corporateville. It is possible that people who are affluent just buy more houses as an investment to make profits. Thus, if the assumption is proved unwarranted, the author cannot suggests that Corporateville is superior than Middlesburg.

Secondly, another assumption that the author makes is that by the survey, we can conclude that employers truly eager to move their headquarters. Although employers answered that they prefer to live in an area that is not urban, it is hard to assure that they can move to suburban or bucolic areas in reality. It is possible that they keep staying in Middleburg because of education for their children or financial issue. Even if they would like to live in suburban or pastoral area, it does not mean that they want to work in those area because living and working is clearly different for employers. Therefore, the author cannot argues that moving headquarters to Corporateville is also better for their employers.

Last and not least, the author assumes that staying in Corporateville is cheaper because of the lower taxes. However, since Corporateville is not located in urban area, the overall price for utility such as water or electricity can be more expensive. Even if the overall price is cheaper than Middlesburg, expenses for moving can overrides the difference of taxes. Therefore, it is far-fetched to say that Supercorp made the best decision.

In brief, the argument is unsound in many respects. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should eliminate aforementioned assumptions.