In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that mere the government’s allocation for cleaning up mason river and increasing riverside recreational facilities would increase the number of water sports user, rendering it’s main conclusion, the city government should allocate more money in this year’s budget for riverside recreational facilities, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the survey result would truly reflect in practical life. For one, the survey might be fail to account for the acyual behavior of people. Usually, the survey is conducted on random basis and this does not always tell the actual preference of mass people. The choice of some people might not be the choice of all people always. In addition, the survey result might be also biased. The survey showed that the people of Mason City ranked water activities as one of their favorite activities. Had the argument provided information regarding the kind of such activities, even then the argument would have to further prove that they would perform these activities in Mason, not other places.

The argument also leaves many other unwarranted questions. Even if the people of Mason city would play the water sports in their own city, the argument does not provide any information whether the instruments for playing recreational activities already existed or need to build newly. If all the staffs needed for playing sports in the water already exists, the new allocation from this year would be unnecessary and it would result in the misuse of public money. As the taxes are the main source of city council’s fund, so it is the first and foremost responsibility of the city council to make sure the best of this fund.

Finally, the argument does not mention the sources of fund for providing money for building riverside recreational facilities. Is this money would be arranged by cutting down the budget for other development projects? If this happened then it is not expected as there might have other important projects which need to complete on priority basis and if fund for building recreational activities managed by discarding these money from these projects, then the people would have a negative impression about the city council.

Because, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the city council should approved more funds in the current budget for building riverside entertainment activities.