In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.”

The reasoning in the argument is not logically flawed; however, it relies on a number of assumptions and lack of proper evidence. Primarily, the argument is based on a survey that shows residents of Mason city are into water sports, and there is a river in the city which can be used for this purpose. The river needs more budget to be revived and clean for new facilities. Although, the unwarranted assumptions of the argument render its main conclusion invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that would make the river an adequate place for this purpose. The argument implies that the river is contaminated and it need more budget to be clean. But it does not answer the type and amount of this contaminations. Are they cleanable forever or this pollution might come back again? In this case the river would not be a good place at all. Also, it declares that more money should be devoted but the term “more” actually incorporates a very large range and makes it ambiguous. More statistical and numeric details should be available to better evaluate the situation.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Another equally important criterion would be the location of the river and its distance to downtown area. The accessibility of the river to residents is an important factor. For instance, if the river is both too close or too far to the downtown, installing these facilities might trigger problems for the neighborhoods.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant about the authenticity and validity of the survey. Many factors are important about the survey. For example, the age and gender are an important factor. Or the level of their income. It is important to know is it the ordinary people of a society that prefers water sport for their recreational or it is a rich and prodigal level of the society. This can also help to justify the amount of budget that should be allocated for the project.

Because the argument makes several unjustified assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that cleaning Mason river, by devoting more money, would be a good idea to provide recreational facilities for the residents of this city.