In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's argument states that the government should invest money in the recreational activities. This conclusion is based on the premise that people of Mason City are notably interested in water sports and there should be facilities for them to meet their interests. To reach to this conclusion, we have to validate some of the stated assumptions.

Firstly, the argument lacks in a very important point which is how many people were involved in the survey? Author didn't give any information regarding how many residents participated in this survey.The author has taken for granted that significant numbers of the citizens of Mason City would be interested in doing the water sports exclusively in the riverside. The number of people, their age and sex are not mentioned in the survey and this casts doubts on the survey to be reliable. Even if the survey is reliable, the people might meet their recreational desires in the pools of the Mason or other places and do not necessarily need to go to the riverside.

Secondly, the author provides no information regarding the budget used for maintaining riverside recreational activities. This further states that government should increase this year's funding for maintaining riverside recreational activities. Is current budget is not enough to clean the river's water? If current state of the river and its surrounding is perfectly maintained then there is no need of increasing money for yearly funding.

Finally, an assumption is made regarding cleaning plans of mason river. The residents are complaining regarding the quality of the river's water and river's smell. It is not clearly said by the author that which people are complaining ? Those who uses river for the activities like swimming, boating and fishing or those who just come to watch the water sports there? The author said that people do not prefer to use river's water for these sport activities despite their interest because of the river's smelly and polluted water. Thus, there is no specific reason mentioned for residents not using river's water.

Studying all these different factors involved in improving riverside recreational facilities, the argument does not justify increasing the budget. In conclusion, the argument depends on three assumptions mentioned above but fails in providing the valid evidences. The argument can be more convincing if author provides information about which residents complained regarding the river, the interest of residents in the water sports and whether the budget is sufficient or not.