"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

The following argument is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that bicyclist ride that the increased accidents were as a result of the safe feel the bicyclist have with their helmets making them take high risk while riding, rendering the main conclusion of an education program to be organized to enlighten the bicyclists of other factors than the use of helmets invalid.

The argument fails to offer any fact of the cause of the increase in helmets usage. As it could have been possible that there was an accident increase and the use of the helmet was paramount in avoiding serious injuries.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Even if there was still an increment in accident cases , the real causes were not stated to proffer a specific solution to the problem.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the increament in accident cases were as a result of bicyclists riding at high risk because they felt safe with their helmets. The argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to show the actual cause as it only suggests this as a cause.

The argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the increase accident cases were as a result of the bicyclists riding at a high risk because they feel safe using the helmet.