"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given nationwide study it is stated that the rate of the accidents can be mitigated by rendering the education as well as awareness to the public regarding the bicycle safety and dissuades the public from wearing the helmets. The author have come to this conclusion based on the certain assumptions. However, the author might be correct but there are several questions to be answer to call it perfect assertion and the unwarranted assertion put forward by the author need to be meticulously examined.

First of all, Is the wearing the helmet 1st way to protect the accident? In the other word the author had put forward the certain assertion that the wearing the helmet is the one of the pivotal factor that thwart the process of the accidents. Albeit, wearing the helmet is one of the saftest way to avert from the accidents there are other factor that may also render the accidents. The factors such as a reckless driving should be given a consideration. The helmet may plays a crucial role to prevent from the danger in the past but in the present scenario its not only a way to thwart ourselves from “The Swords of Damocles”. If this scenario is present the assertion put forward by the author is weakened.

Moreover, Is the data regarding the helmet rider percentage flawless? Author proclaimed that the percentage of helmet riders waxed over the period of the time by providing the information that there is significant increase in the percentage of the helmet riders over the period. However, the data provided by the various sources may be flawed the information may have significant erroneous mistakes. If any of this factors may holds true, the main argument asserted by the author holds no water .

On the other hand ,Is the rendering the awareness and educating the people is the best way to prevent the accidents? As the author maintained that the by providing the awareness among the people may help to control the accidents instead of using the helmets. However, if the people are not content with the education provided by the government officials and they are adamant in their thoughts and as well as demeanor the rate of accidents cannot be plummeted . The ambiance well be full of chaos as well as havoc the accidents rate will be increase in the rapid way . If any of these holds true,the argument asserted by author holds no true.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed predicated on flawed assumptions.If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(in form of systematic research study ) then it is possible to strengthen .