"Ten years ago our company had two new regional office buildings built in two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies - Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had virtually identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha Construction Company, rather than Zeta, for all future building projects."

The above argument states that a large company had two new buildings constructed in different regions erected by different construction companies namely Alpha and Zeta. The arguer provides certain evidences supporting why Zeta is more promising construction company than Alpha and they should hire Zeta for new building projects. The arguer compared the overall cost considering several factors and the stability of workforce. However, the evidences provided by arguer are vague and doesn’t sound plausible.

Firstly, arguer claims that company should hire Zeta rather than Alpha for their new building project. Arguer compares the building cost, maintenance cost and electricity consumption. There are certain loopholes in this argument. The arguer tells that Zeta requires 30 percent more to build but didn’t specifies the expenditure. Also, in span of ten years, nothing can be stated precisely as the Alpha construction company might have raised their cost and Zeta have still remained intact with their prices. Hence the evidences are vague.

Further, arguer takes into account the electricity consumption and maintenance cost of both construction companies. However, arguer compared maintenance cost of last year of buildings which were built 10 year ago. There might other reasons for increasing maintenance cost of Alpha. Alpha might be equipped with more new machines and also its workforce might be comparatively more and thus its maintenance cost have increased. Also, the sum of maintenance cost plus electricity consumption might be less than the cost of building of Alpha and hence this contrasts the argument. Hence this argument also lacks in evidence.

Lastly, the Zeta had been provided priority for construction of new projects on the grounds of the stability of workforce. This argument is completely unreasonable as how a workforce can be a medium for comparing two construction company. There might be possibility that Zeta may have less employees and that’s why the majority of employees didn’t left the company. The latter might also be the reason for maintenance and electricity cost.

Lastly, arguer had provided certain evidences in support of Zeta over Alpha for construction of new projects. But the grounds on which they are compared are plausible. For choosing the better construction company, they should be compared on the basis of overall maintenance cost in the span of 10 years(in this case), on the basis of durability i.e. how they can withstand against extreme weather conditions, how many amenities they provides and along with workforce stability.