Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

The above statements contend how competition affects the quality of learning. Some believes that student excels in competitive environment whereas some believes it will degrade the quality of learning. I agree with the latter claim as some students aims to score higher marks and to excel in the class and that somewhere overshadows the real aspects of learning.

One aspect is learning, which is simply gaining information and another aspect is its application. Student just gaining the knowledge without knowing the actual application, what role it plays in real life and why it is important will be same as handing a football to a child without telling him how to play. The above issue can be exemplified as: In science subject, corrosion of metals occurs when water reacts with iron. For sake of learning, students try to remember all properties of metals, its valency, its catalyst etc. for scoring high in examination. He might excel in the class but he might not be aware why his cycle’s metal frame was deteriorated.

Secondly, including co-curricular activities such as industrial visits, science fair, school campaigns, etc. would help gaining practical aspects of learning as well. For example, organizing a science fair competition. Student will create different projects, models, etc. and would rather enjoy than remembering all theories behind it. In this manner, students by performing various experiments might help them in the examination as well and one would not have to mug up. Hence schools should more emphasize on such activities also.

Thirdly, taking into consideration the practical exam as a grading criterion. In this manner, student having not only theoretical knowledge but having practical knowledge also will excel in the classroom and hence will cure the issue.

I do stated about the extra co-curricular activities but it should be at the cost of theoretical exam. Without examination, one might won’t care or much give importance to education and will affect inversely. Also emphasizing more on practical knowledge is demerit as well because not every subject or every chapter will be of practical aspect. Derivations, math formulas and other aspects are also of much importance. And, there are certain theories which are accepted without proofs and still accounts for major of the topics.

Hence, real learning is keeping balance between practical knowledge and theoretical knowledge. Hence, opting proper curriculum won’t degrade the quality of learning and student will be graded accordingly.