There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The debate between large cities and small towns has been a longstanding issue, but now data is supporting the claim that to live a longer life, citizens should consider moving to a small town. While this is important and may be worth publicizing to the general public, there is much more to consider. Health may not be everyone’s number one priority. Some people could argue that it is about living life to the fullest, so for some people the big city lifestyle may be worth risking the health and longevity for a happier life.

Big cities such as Masonton are not only known for the hectic pace of life, but often sought out for that purpose. The argument fails to focus on the benefits of large cities. Big cities offer more jobs, housing, wider variety of food, clothing, transportation, and much more, but with these benefits comes more job competition, higher housing prices, and expensive budgets for eating out or shopping. Another big city example may be the Big Apple, or more commonly known as New York City. It is famous for being a melting pot city in America. Wall street, Broadway, and many high end stores are in New York. Many people enjoy being surrounded by the busy work day or the eventful night life. It is also known as the city that never sleeps. While that may be fun and worth visiting, sleep is vital to human health along with relaxation; therefore small cities may be the way to go.

Small cities offer almost the exact opposite. Small cities such as Leeville, may have only a couple hundred or thousand people who work as small town business owners to serve their town citizens. Small town living promotes supporting one another, relaxing, and community living. There tend to be the minimum businesses and limited competition. Hours often reside with late mornings and early evening to optimize spending time in the community. The laid back lifestyle is proven to keep people healthier and living longer, but it depends on the person’s personality to decide if a small town is the right fit.

Now it’s easy to discuss big cities and small towns, but it is also important to note that there are cities varying in sizes in between, such as small suburbs, which the argument does not account for. Suburbs gives a mixture of small town living and big city lifestyles. Medium sized cities may be the right fit for people who do not conform to a certain lifestyle. They may want something in between the hectic and laid back lifestyle. Lastly, if small towns are promoted for health, it is possible that there could be an increase in small towns which make them bigger and more chaotic and big cities may decrease in population unable to continue the demand.

Big cities and small towns have both their benefits and downfalls, however it is ultimately up to the person individually to decide where they personality fits and how much they value health and longevity versus living a full happy life.