Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The publisher of Newsbeat magazine proposed a shift in editorial policy, recommending that emphasis on politics be reduced and more focus be given to economics and personal finance. The publisher supported her recommendation with the fact that issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years and that a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines indicates that readers are more interested in economics than in politics. However, before this conclusion can be properly substantiated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the features on the front cover of a magazine the only influence on the sales of the magazine? do other strategic pages of the magazine not influence its sales too? The readers may be more influence by the feature on the back cover and not the front. Hence changing the front cover feature might not increase sales. Also, the readers may prefer a blank front cover to keep them in suspense of the content of the magazine to a worded front cover. If either of the above assumptions is true, then the publisher's argument does not hold water.

Secondly, are the conditions of the last three years the same as the conditions in the present year? Are there not intriguing political issues happening now which were not prevalent before? Perhaps, the last three years have seen little or no political issues that concern the public. Maybe there was an epidemic or a major sporting event that drew the people's attention away from politics. It is also possible that the present year is an election year and many politicians will begin to give speeches that appeal to the public. If the above case is true, then the publisher's claim is unwarranted and her recommendation of focusing more exclusively on economics and personal finance is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that the front cover has a magnanimous influence on sales and that the conditions of the last three years are the same now, we need to ask, what set of readers where surveyed? The publisher of Newsbeat magazine presumes (without evidence) that the readers surveyed recently contributes largely to sales. The surveyed might have been carried out on students who are concerned about economic matters but not solvent enough to purchase magazines. Also, it is possible that the readers surveyed prefer reading old magazines about economics and personal finance and as such have no contribution to the present sales. If it is true that the readers surveyed recently do not contribute to present sales, then the publisher's assertion is invalid and her recommendation is specious.

In conclusion, the publisher's recommendation of limiting emphasis on politics and focusing more exclusively on economics and personal finance may improve sales. However, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the publisher can answer the above three questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.