Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The publisher of Newsbeat magazine is of the opinion that the magazine should refrain from emphasis on politics since those issues which contained political news on their front cover witnessed some of the poorest sales. In support, she also mentions a survey of readers of a general interest magazine which indicates greater reader interest in economic issues compared to political ones. The editor of the magazine is of the opposite opinion and does not welcome the shift in the editorial policy as she believes that very few magazines offer the extensive political coverage as done by Newsbeat. To evaluate whether the recommended shift in editorial policy is reasonable or not, certain questions must be answered and certain assumptions must be questioned. I would like to present three questions which would help in determining the strength of the stand taken by the publisher of Newsbeat magazine.

To begin with, the publisher extrapolates the data collected over a period of past three years to recommend that if the magazine keeps focusing on political issues, it would drop in popularity. But that may not be the actual case. It may be that, with the atmosphere becoming more and more politically charged, readers now wish to read magazines which emphasise on politics. So the pertinent question which must be answered here is whether there has been any shift in the political climate which could warrant a discussion and consequently, a high demand for political magazines. To answer this, the publisher should ideally try to gather some market data and data about the sentiments of all the readers to determine whether this assumption is strong enough or not.

Secondly, the publisher takes the help of a survey of readers of a general magazine to claim that the public does not wish to read political news. But the catch here is that the survey is based only on the readers of the general magazine! Isn’t it obvious that general magazine readers would not be very inclined to reading political journalism? So the dataset which is used to make this assumption is skewed against publishing political news. Therefore the data cannot be relied on. The publisher needs to ask whether the sentiments expressed in the general survey any representative of the preferences of the readers of Newsbeat? If the answer is no, the publisher would then have to reanalyze the situation.

Coming to the last point, I would like to reiterate the idea averred by the editor, “very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore”. Now if this is indeed true, wouldn’t shifting focus from political to economic news be a counterintuitive strategy for Newsbeat? Instead of focusing on their speciality, they are getting rid of it to focus on other areas where they may not be the best. Newsbeat should try to focus on their own strengths instead of changing their core values. It is not a wise strategy to compromise on excellent journalism just to generate more sales. We need more data to understand the ground truth. Is Newsbeat as good at economic journalism as political? Are all political magazines suffering from a dive in the sales? All this background knowledge would help us build up a sound solution.

To sum up, the argument is flawed as it relies on various unwarranted assumptions. However, it could be supported by providing relevant data which can provide a clear answer to the questions discussed above. If the publisher is able to account for each of the assumptions made by her (preferably in the form of a systematic report), the argument would be considerably strengthened. Only then would it be possible to evaluate whether the decision of cutting out political news from Newsbeat is a wise decision or not.