Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

The publisher of Newsbeat magazine argues that they should shift their focus to economics and finance articles for their upcoming volumes, instead of political articles, even though Newsbeat is one of those very few offering extensive political coverage. She states that these have more interest amongst the general public and would thus help increase the overall sales of the magazine. However, the arguement is flawed due to the following three reasons.

Looking at the past sales data of three years, issues that featured political news on the front page have been the poorest selling ones. But this assumes that the trend of lack of interest in political issues is still present and is continuing in the future. During the year 2020, the entire world's interest shifted to the COVID-19 pandemic and many regularly interesting topics like entertainment and sports suffered sales just because of the fact that the public was interested in understanding more about this new disease and recent advancements in that field. Thus, the three year period that is studied might provide a false information about the actual situation -- something that is also the case here.

Additionaly, the publisher points to a survey of readers that indicate interest in economic issues over political ones. But were these people picked from a pool of population where the distribution of interest for a topic is uniform? If someone surveys finance majors, one can also expect them to be biased against political or even cosmopolitan issues.

Lastly, it is assumed that the public's interest in a particular topic is directly correlated with the amount of sales it brings. Let's take example of the year 2012, when the infamous cryptocurrency Bitcoin hit the value of $20,000 for the first time. Though there was a newfound interest in cryptocurrency amongst everyone, would switching the magazine's aim to Bitcoin articles be the wisest choice? -- considering a decline in mass interest and announcement of a dozen more different tokens over the next 4 years.

Thus, I think the arguement to switch to non-political issues like economics and finance is a flawed one in this case. If there was additional research conducted including surveys with groups of different demographics, it might make more sense to switch the magazine's main agenda, as it would provide insight about the wider audience.