A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum in a student's education is similar to the list of ingredients in a delicacy -- what might work in one case might prove disastorous in another. Here, the prompt suggests that every student should follow a nation curriculum until they enter college. I mostly disagree with the prompt and here are my three points supporting the same.

Firstly, not only is every student distinctive in her interests and choices, but also has different goals and colleges that incline with the same. It is difficult to accomodate these variety of goals with the overall national interest. For example, For a country like China, which is flourishing rapidly in technology and manufacturing, the national curriculum might be predilected towards STEM based ideologies. This might result in a majority of courses focusing on Advanced Calculus and Linear Algebra -- courses which are counter-productive for students aiming for top Psychology programs. This would even make a majority of students to be disinterested.

Secondly, this emphasis on a single choice immures the space for exploring different paths. If we take the example of India, a country that made Engineering as the conventionally reputed profession, suffered in the long term by producing a million incompetent engineers every year. Though many realised what they are interested in and switched early, a majority was not able to do that due to lack of individual thinking from the beginning. A common curriculum precludes this self-fulfilling mindset, hampering the growth in the long term.

Thirdly, I do concede that having various curriculum makes it difficult to have a common standard of education. This does make the initial admission process difficult. But, one should also note that this comparison is not required in majority of the cases. For example, a curriculum that focuses on design thinking -- which is considered as the gold standard for programs admitting students interested user design and behavior - might not need to compare with students from a STEM based curriculum.

To conclude, I would like to shift my focus to how a presence of different curriculums give every student a headstart. Assuming the nation has devised different curriculums based on different industries -- every student would give deep thought and compare how much does it align with her aspirations. This would result in a majority of students realising their calling -- which would not only make them interested to pursue education -- but also result in a decline of incompetency caused by lack of interest in the field.