Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

When someone is young, there are a paramount of opportunities available to them. Amongst these, there are two different types of choices for everyone -- one that would provide instant recognition, and the other that would reap it's rewards in the longer term. I agree with the prompt that suggests that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition and here are my 2 reasons for the same.

No matter how mature and experienced someone grows, he/she simply cannot predict if a trend is a fad that would be dead by the next quarter or a revolution that would transform industries over the next decade. For example, learning to build a computer was considered as an essential skill in the 1990s. As the computer industry was booming, computers were finding place out of specialised industries to everyday houses. One might argue that companies that focused on getting recognised as the best computer building companies would make a fortune. Though it might be true in some cases, major computer building corporations died in 6 months as computer-building industry became stagnant. Things would worsen if an individual would start building computers for the fame, without any interest in doing so. Rather, if that person -- having a natural inclination towards problem solving -- would have chosen a troubleshooting job, he/she would remain relevant today.

Alongside, if one is looking to build a career in a particular field, success is guarenteed only if the person has achieved mastery in his/her craft. And mastery requires repeating the same process over long periods of time in a manner it is done by muscle memory. If someone is running after fads to gain instant recognition, he/she might have to shift towards different "interests" over time, which is counter productive to achieving mastery.

Research suggests that an average time span an NBA players has spent on the court by time reaching the peak of his/her career is well over 10,000 hours. To gain that level of success and achieve mastery, one cannot afford to take up a variety of things -- with the primary goal to get famous.

Lastly, I would like to concede that some may argue about how instant recognition helps in keeping someone motivated to perform a task repitively over long periods of time. This does not hold water, as no studies have shown that no amount of (external) motivation can keep someone engaged to a task. Every athelete scored a gold in the Olympics because he/she was intrinsically motivated to do so. Adding to that, if someone is correlating his/her motivation to do a task with the fame achieved -- it is inevitable to focus on getting fame primarily rather than getting better at the task.