The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Any institution can only progres through a continuous process of problem-solving, and the rate of advancement depends upon the amount of collaboration amongst it's various teams. Instilling a zero-sum mindset is necessary, especially while preparing to "compete" in a globalized world. The prompt suggests that the best way for a society to prepare its next generation for leading is by focusing on cooperation, rather than collaboration. I strongly agree with this, and here are two reasons supporting for the same.

To begin with, it is important to realise that alongside the plethora of problems that every organisation faces, some of them are bigger than any individual one. For example, let us look at the development of COVID-19 vaccine. Though there are a list of countries that is capable of developing it from scratch -- studies show that an individualistic plan would have taken atleast 2x the time, if not more. Alongside, there might have been a dozen countries drowning in the pandemic, due to the lack of accesibility to required resources. The global collaboration of multiple governments enabled sharing of knlowledge and technology, and this teamwork catalysed the process significantly.

Further, let us look at the various economic sanctions by US and NATO ally countries during the Russia-Ukraine war. Research says that these sanctions have slowed down the War significantly, and eliminated the risk of World War 3, which seemed a lot more probable.

The above examples illustrate how having a shared goal, and deploying shared efforts is not only preferred, but necessary to prevent cataclysmic events.

Lastly, let us study the implications of emphasisis on competition inside an organisation. If a manager believes that the sales figures are true indicator of his productivity and efficiency, not only would he compromise the quality of the product and the long term vision, but also would he incline towards maximising his individual rating over his team. This might lead the team to lose confidence in the leadership, denegrating the entire organisation, piece by piece. Thus, the example shows how a cooperative mindset might not only boosts productivity, but may also leads to higher retention and happier employees.

Finally, I do concede that some fields are inherently competitive. For example, when an athelete is competing on the International level, focusing on helping the opponent score better should be the last thing on the captain's mind. But, we need to remember that when we are talking about "preparing" the young generation by instilling a sense of cooperation, we are focusing on cooperating in the preparation process; and not the evaluation process. This is why the given reason does not hold water. And this thoruogh understanding makes our argument on cooperation stronger than ever. When a leader is competing, she is winning the match; but when a leader is cooperating, she is winning the sport.