Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institution pursuing students to choose a career that will give them a lot of financial or any other advantage is what we often see in some institutions today. While there is a benefit to such encouragement for better life of student, there are many drawbacks to it. I disagree with the prompt for three reasons.

If educational institutes persuade students into seeking jobs that will give them lucrative career in the future, the competition in the field will be skyrocketed. On the face it might seem to have no problem, but it affects the students who are truly passionate for the field. Say for example, career in AI, if a lot of students are persuaded into going for career in AI, they might end up doing a job that pays good but won’t innovate anything, as majority will be seeking it for benefits. The students who are truly passionate will bring innovation in to the field, but due to competition many of them won’t make it in.

Also, it’s an unsaid rule that in order for this world to function properly, a lot of different career quota needs to be fulfilled. Example, a recent surge in Data Science has led all of the students to go for it, but there is a need for COBOL language programmers which is not fulfilled, many operations of certain organization depend on it. Whenever a worker resigns from COBOL programmer job, it stagnates the progress in that field until a new programmer is found to replace. If educational institution promote every field equally based on passion of students, COBOL programmers won’t be hard to find because there has to be someone who could be passionate of the language.

Another study proved that students who choose a field of study that they love tend to be happier than those who choose field just for higher salaries. The dopamine is the hormone in the brain released when you do something you love. This hormone thus is partly responsible for job satisfaction. Job satisfaction is directly associated with suicide rates. For example, in Japan, the suicide rates have skyrocketed since the tech boom, many people pursued careers in tech despite no passion for it, leading stressful life and ending up with a suicide.

Educational institutions must lead students to pursue their passion, avail them of necessary guidance to seek for field of study that support their passion and educate them about possible jobs in respective interest. In the end, the lucrative careers won’t make you “successful”, real success is happiness sought through passion for your field of interest.