The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions- Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to-be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria: which had a similar sanctuary: has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1948. In order to preserve the regions biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built "

In the letter to the editor the author claims that in order to preserve the biodiversity of the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg the West Lansburg council should not allow road to be built along the edge of the wetlands. To bolster his claim the author gives example of the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria which had a similar sanctuary and had seen a decline in otter population since repeal of its sanctuary status. However, the author makes several dubious assumptions which are needed to be addressed. This argument is logically flawed in several critical aspects.

To begin with, the author mentions about the ancient records which suggest that the tufted groundhog were in millions but this record is very old. For instance, the number of the tufted groundhogs may have reduced with the over the years due to any reasons like climate change, natural calamities, etc. The argument would have be more convincing if explicitly stated the recent records regarding the tufted groundhogs.

Secondly, the author gives example of the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria where repealing the sanctuary status has led to decline in sea otter. This example is not very convincing as author has mentioned very clearly the specific reasons behind the decline of sea otter. There could be several reasons like hunting, natural calamities, or even the sea otter have been migrated to other place. And also the policy which worked for Eastern Carpenteria will work for the West Lansburg is not sure as they are different is several aspects.

Finally, the local development is interested in building a road along the edge of the wetlands. This construction of road is not going to disturb the tufted groundhogs which are in the wetlands. If the construction would have been through the wetlands than it would have affected the tufted groundhogs and would have declined their number. But as the road is along the edge without any disturbance to the wetlands for me it seems no problem.

Thus, due to overstated flaws the argument seems to be ill-founded. However, the argument would have been strengthened if the author would have mentioned some recent records, specific details of the decline, etc. With such confirming evidence the argument begins to cohere. Without it, the argument is bereft of critical foundation and can't be deemed persuasive.