"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article, Dr. Karp endorses the superiority of his interview-centered method in comparison to the observation-centered approach Dr. Field used in the past. While his arguments may seem impeccable, there are few points that must be addressed to properly evaluate his point.

First, Dr. Karp must ensure that his interview respondents were as honest as possible in their answer. Conscious about the publicity of his answer, a person may give different answers than what is reflected in his beliefs or every day life. Also, it may be a cultural norm to talk about one’s biological parent more than anything else in Tertia. This potential discrepancy between an interviewee’s answer and his actual tradition needs to be disproved before the acceptance of Dr. Karp’s opinion.

Another evidence that is necessary is whether the interviews were conducted over the correct region. In the article, Dr. Karp mentions that the interviews were conducted in “group of islands that includes Tertia.” However, if Dr. Karp’s students spent most of their interview time on other islands, the results may be biased and his conclusion in the importance of biological parents in the culture may be invalid.

Another possibility is that both the interview and observation-central approaches are valid. In other words, both Dr. Karp and Dr. Field may have been correct. Dr. Field conducted his study twenty years ago, which means the culture itself may have changed over the years. Thus, it may be natural and correct that Dr. Karp’s results prove different from Dr. Field’s experiences. This would require further research on the Tertian culture of upbringing kids to divulge the truth.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp’s argument that strongly displays his predilection for interview-centric approach is based on assumptions that may be disproved. Such assumptions must be supported by strong evidence as suggested above in order to judiciously assess his claims.