The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Debates on the best method of teaching have been going on for centuries. Some believe that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones lead to the best results whereas some think that punishment for negative actions is the best teacher. This pedagogical debate can be resolved by the idea of balance between praise and punishment.

Praises help students be recognized for their achievement and excellence. Not only does is it a celebratory measure, praises can also encourage students to try even harder, their ego driving them to work for another praise. However, it should not be all that is provided to a student as it may prevent the student from further improvement or advancement. Teaching methods that solely focus on lauding the students only makes them blind to the room for improvement.

Such balance between praise and punishment for wrong actions was achieved by the famous teacher, Sullivan, who tutored Helen Keller. Keller was born deaf and blind and had a pretty violent character until she met Sullivan. Only after Sullivan praised her for the positive actions and repeatedly corrected the negative ones did she become docile. For example, if Helen would not hold the spoon correctly, the teacher would constantly bring it back to her hands and indicate to her that it was called a spoon. Another way that a good balance between praise and punishment leads to student success is the process of taking tests. If a student only focused on the questions he or she got correct, it would be difficult to learn anything new.

Some may think that there is no need to point out the negative actions, which may be the case if the student makes no mistakes or negative actions whatsoever. Even then, there is always room for improvement and a little bit of criticism can fuel the student to achieve even more than before. If everyone had ignored that slavery was not just, we may still have passages about why slavery should exist in our textbooks. Without proper criticism for negative action, we may still live in a world believing archaic ideas, with no advancement or improvement.