Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

When studying anthropology there are many aspects of a culture that an anthropoligist can emphasize on. When Dr. Field did his observation- centered approach on Tertian culture, he came accross different findings of the culture. However, through one of the things he noted was the children within the Tertian, culture were reared more by the adults of the village, reather than their biological parents. This statement was based on Dr. Field’s obsevation. Recently, Dr. Karp visited a groups of Islands, in which Tertia happened to be one of them. He conducted a interview-centered method, in which he validated informationg. He concluded the opposite, he noted that the children were talking more about their biological parents, rather than the people of their village. He claims that, Dr. Field’s conclusion was invalid, based on his recent findings. Both of these finding are too obscure, to find a definite conclusion. Yes, another researcg should be conducted, but it should be specific to the island of Tertia, and their children, and both observation, and interview centered apporach should be consiered to get a cogent result in the study.

Although, both studies have similar finiding, their study was to tainted because they were not focused on the same exact findings, and or environmental setting. Dr. Field’s went to observe the Island of Tertia, meaning he most likely was focused on other aspects of the island. Therefore, his sole focus was not on the history of children’s rearing, rather a conclusion he came across, maybe by chance. Also, we are not aware of how many children were interviewed, age, range, gender, or even time of year. There could have been many factors that led to his findings. We also have to consider that this study happened 20 years ago, and it was based off on observation. Culture norms might have been different.

Dr. Karp also went to the island of Tertia, however he observed other islands meaning his findings are different from Dr. Field, who only went to Tertia. Although he was focused on the rearing of children, he is not able to really compare. He did a interviewed-based study, and it is possible that he did it in different islands. In doing this, the study is tainted as well, because there is no comparision among the studies. This is also 20 years later, the responses could have changed based on the culture norms, age of children, island location, and gender. They can compare their findings, but their approach to the topic was not identical, making it difficult to find a underlining conclusion.

In order to find a more concise and specific conclusion, anthropologist should consider staying in the island of Tertia, conduciton both interview and observation centered method and really being specific with the age group, gender, as well the year the study was conducted. Observing culture norms within the children, and perhaps interviewing a family. There are many ways this study could be conducted. Both anthropologist bring a good contrasting background, but in order to find a cogent conclusion, the study needs to resdesigned in a way that the evidence is not obscured.

Anthropology can be a study that is easily swayed, becuase the study of culture can a have a vast amount of information, even when simply observing it. In order to conduct a study to find a specific answer, there need to be a specific question and purpose, and structure in order to keep the asnwer valid. However, in anthropology culture, and cultural norms are always changing, so it is imperative to keep the study in mind.