Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza.

The Editorial concludes that city should lift the ban imposed on skateboarding in the central plaza, Since their has been only a small increase in number of visitors coming to central plaza and the problem of litter and vandalism still exist.To support this argument the editorials author points out that since the skateboarding is permitted in Monroe park,their is no problem with litter or vandalism there.However, the argument relies on several doubtful assumptions, and is therefore

unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the author assumes that the skateboard users are responsible for less number of visitors in central plaza since they were responsible for litter and vandalism. However the author fails to provide the evidence that proves the less number of visitors in central plaza is because of litter and vandalism done by the skateboard users.The author ignores that their may be a increase in crime rate around central plaza area, because of which the number of visitors is less in central plaza.

Secondly,the author fails to explain how prohibiting the skateboard users will increase the number of visitors in central plaza. Author ignores that people themselves don’t like to come to plaza because there is no good eateries and shops that earlier was there but now it is being replaced by less appealing one.So in this case prohibiting the skateboard users will not impact number of visitors in central plaza.

Third, Author fails to convince me that lifting the ban is the only way, available to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, It look contradictory to the claim they have made that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza.Author ignores the other alternative available such as introduce new appealing shops and famous eateries in central park.Author should have stated people opinion about what they like to have in park, what do they dislike in park.Then author should have convinced me that the skateboard is the only reason for less number if visitors and increase in litter and vandalism

Finally, The Author points out that, since the skateboard is permitted in Monroe park, their is no problem with litter and vandalism there.However the author fails to provide the evidence that in Monroe Park number of visitors has increased because their Is no problem of litter and vandalism even if skateboarding is permitted there. So Author might be confused with cause and effect by assuming permitting skateboard reduced the litter and vandalism in Monroe Park.

In conclusion, the argument is a specious one, To strengthen the argument, the editorial’s author must provide and evidence that skateboarding and not some other factor is responsible for decline in number of visitors in central plaza.The author must also convince me that how lifting the ban on skateboarding will increase the number of visitors in central plaza. Author must provide the evidence that people are not visiting the park because of litter and vandalism.Author must also convince me that there no alternative is available to restore Central Plaza to its former glory