To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Since High concentration of people living in major cities, studying major cities is a better approach to understand the most important characteristics of a society since It contains the people from all the parts of the country , One could observe multiple cultures in major cities because of globalization,and will be able to comprehend the diverse characteristics of society.Whereas only studying the major cities cannot portray the major characteristics of the society,minor cities due to lack of interaction with foreign culture are able to perpetuate the Indian tradition and culture, on the other contrary major cities because of the multiple culture cannot delineate Indian society.So I partially agree with the statement that studying major cities is important to study the most important characteristics of the society.

Major cities involves interaction with foreign culture, so this influences the major cities lifestyle and changes the face of the society. For instance, Mumbai city is one of the major cities in India, as it is the financial capital and one of the major IT hub of India, it involves more interaction with peoples from different countries,so Multiple cultures will be perceived by studying city like Mumbai.but it does not show main characteristics of Indian society.However, Major cities includes immigrants from all the parts of the country, people from different communities could be observed here, so eclectic characteristics of the society could be studied by studying the major cities.For instance in a city like Mumbai all the western and Indian festivals are celebrated,festivals and celebrations are observed by all communities and religions.

On the contrary, In the country like India, where 70 % of the population lives in minor cities or rural areas , it cannot be denied that studying the minor cities is equally important to understand the characteristics of the society.Since In minor cities their is no globalization, the tradition and culture is preserved, lack of interaction with the world will not change the existing tradition and culture.

To summarize, Studying minor cities to understand the most important characteristics of a society is equally important to get the details knowledge of tradition and culture.As in country like india, minor cities are the one who is less likely to be affected by globalization, therefore the culture and tradition are most likely to be perpetuated in minor cities.on the contrary studying major cities is also important to study the eclectic culture and tradition.Since their will be different people from different communities who lives together.This demonstrate that the studying major cities is equally important as minor cities to understand the most important characteristics of the society.