"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they d

The chairperson of the west egg town council claims that landfill in the town will last longer than predicted because of the town's strong commitment to recycling. He gives reasons for his claim which are not very strong and to make a convincing case he needs to provide strong evidence.

Firstly, the author needs to state that the recycling activity that is been done by residents is enough for the landfill to last long. It is possible that out of the total garbage produced by the town only 1% was been recycled and that in last two years it has increased to 2%. Thus we see that in proporiton to the total garbage a very little amount is recycled which is not enough to claim that landfill will last longer than predicted.

Secondly, The author states that recycling activity will increase from next month as the pickup cost of garbage from household is going to double. However, we dont know that doubling be cost is going to make the residents recycle more. For example, If the residents are rich and the doubling of cost does not bother them, then the amount of recylced material will remain same. Thus the author needs to state the current pick up cost of garbage and the overall income of all the households to make his claim convincing.

Third, the author has not given the sample size of this survey which states that 90% respondents said that they would do more recycling. If the towms total population is 100 thousand and the author's sample space contained only 100 people out of which 90 said yes they would recycle, then it is not a sunstantial evidence to be believed. Also auhor needs to provide the information about the class of people he used as sample size. What if most of the people belonged to upper class who are aware of recycling and its benefits. The people from lower class might have a opposite opinion and this makes authors claim weak.

In addition, the life of landfill is not only depended on amount of garbade that is been recylced. It also depends on number of other factors like temperature, soil condition, moisture content and leacheate produced from the landfill. Thus the authors claim that landfills life will increase just by reducing the amount of garbage by recycling most of the amount is not reseaonable.

To make a stronger case the author needs to provide statistical data and a survey conducted on large sample size with various classes of society.