Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

The author of the letter seems to be quite upset with the objections raised by non city members of the committee at the meeting. He states that in recent meeting important decisions were not taken and that the membership of the committee must be restricted to city members only. On a primary level this suggestion does seem convincing although further check reveals that the argument contains lots of unanswered questions which needs to be cleared to make it more convincing.

Firstly the author states that foolish objections were raised by members who are not residents of oak city. The author needs to clear what were the suggestions and objections raised by the members? It is possible that the objections that seem foolish to author are of great concern to the non residents of the city. For example there may have been a suggestion to dump the garbage of oak city at a particular site outside the residencial area of oak city. Although, the area is right in the middle of other residential areas and dumping garbage at that place will cause nuisance for the residents of that locality. Thus the author needs to provide what objections were raised at the meeting.

Secondly, the author needs to answer that whatever strategies are applied for the improvement of oak city does not affect the people and area outside the city. Decisions taken only by the members of city will be biased. The people coming from outside of the city to work in oak city might get adversely affected by their decisions. For example the city decides that only bicycles are allowed inside the city. It will be quite difficult for people coming from far away to adhere to this rule. They will have to park their vehicles outside the city gates. Which will raise more questions like will the outsiders be provided with appropriate parking space and security of their vehicles?

The author needs to provide answers to how non interference of non residents is going to help committee to make oak city better place to live and work. For example the decision making and execution are two different aspects. What if the decisions are taken in the meeting yet no progress is possible due to bad execution. They take decision of providing free wifi connection throughout the city. However they do not have manpower to execute their plan and to provide the routers in the whole city. Thus, it means that the improvement of city is hindered without interference of non resident members in the committee meetings.

Thus the author needs to provide answers to these questions to make the argument more convincing.