Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

Every developed as well as developing country engages its resources in research and development in various fields. The output of these research activities is many a times not known which can cause serious damage. I have to partially agree with the author the government must know about the work of the scientific community.

All young people now find the sci-fiction movies quite interesting and exciting. These movies many a times show that the scientific discoveries that go wrong have a very grusome effect on the world. For example in the movie- The amazing spider man, one of the experiment at central lab goes wrong and a monster like creature is created. the creature creats havok in the city and kills many people. Finally the city is saved by the spider man and all is well. Now think if someone does really try to replicate this in real life. How scary that is right, given that our spiderman has not been recruited yet?. Thus the government and people of the country must know what exactly are the outcomes of any research activity and how are they going to affect their lives.

Also it is necessary for the government that all the resources and funds that they are putting into research are not wasted. What if the scientific community tries to make use of the funds for their own well-being. For example, the government assigns a huge amount of money for cancer research. And at the end of two years they come to know that the money was used by researchers to buy office and university equipments and that by far no solid research has been done on cancer treatments. The government and the people are cheated and looted.

However, not every discovery is predicted. Sometimes a scientist starts to find answers to one questions and in between makes many useful discoveries. For example, remember when coloumbus had started his voyage to find India but due to his inacurate compass he unknowing reached a land which is know known as America.Hence, we can never be sure that in research from the point we start we are going to exactly end at a particular known end point. The research usually takes a detour and in between makes many small and significant discoveries.

Thus, to conclude I have to state that the government must have little idea of what the research community is working on and what are its consequences. They should try to keep track with the activities by taking quarterly or monthly reports from the scientists.