Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the radio station KICK in Medway could attract more crowd by increasing the call-in advice programs. While this sounds plausible and logically correct, the reasoning is rife with loop holes. The author cites the nation-wide survey as well as the success of another radio station, WCQP from Rockville, for reaching the conclusion.

This argument does not provide a cogent reason to increase the call-in programs. Many aspects determine the number of callers of a show. A clearer information about the survey is not presented in the argument. Knowing the population of each town and as well as the proportion of listeners of per program, would give further insight into the scenario. If the population of Medley is much lesser than Rockville, increasing the number of call-in programs will not give the predicted result. A survey of the current listeners’ vs the non-listeners would also make a lot of difference in the conclusion.

Apart from the population, another information that would help is the demography of the region. The shows in Rockville might cater to the majority there. For example, if Rockville has a larger number of teenagers, the radio station will include more shows that feature the current popular musical bands. This will pique the interests of that section and in turn increase the calls. The same example might not be applicable in case of Medley, where the elderly population might be greater.

If we ponder further, accessibility also come into picture. Many people might not have the monetary resources or the time to listen to radio. If Medley is an industry- focused town full of hard working people who do not have the time to invest in a radio show, the listeners will not increase with the programs.

The insight and effectiveness call-in programs and their advices provided by the hosts would also add to its popularity. Furthermore, the popular shows would have accumulated its loyal listeners. It might be difficult for the KICK’s programs to compete with the WCQP’s programs even if in the areas where both radio stations are available.

Lastly, the increase in the popularity of WCPQ’s call-in programs is spanned over two years. A lot of developments could have happened in the two years. People might prefer to use other modes of information, like the internet or newspaper columns for advice.

In conclusion, there is no compelling evidence to support the author’s assumption that increasing the call-in programs would, in turn, increase the popularity of the Radio Station. There are many flaws in the logic considered as it leaves many questions unanswered.