Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

We can extract from the above argument: KICK should start increasing call-in program themselves to get the same result as WCQP did in order to increase their audience share. This position was held on the basis of The success of call-in advice programming of WCQP radio station. This conclusion was drawn solely based on inexhaustive research. To make this conclusion to strengthen following few question should be asked.

Does WCQP's success really indicate they can achieve this feat too? Well The research bases of the two radio station might not be the same; that the WCQP's audience may have loved the show because they were familiar and connected with the show host. This is a major issue in most of the shows, apparently shows success does not come with its format but rather with the content. Even the change of the host of the very show at WCQP would not guarantee its success as a whole. Any shows success is content-with-presentation. If the manager could work on finding answer to his problem it could be better.

There is another question- Is this the only show that they could work on to increase their share of audience? - that needs to be answered. The call-in program is not the only program that KICK radio station airs; there may be shows that interest more audience than this very show and that the increase in those shows time could interest more audience. Based on WCQP's successful encounter with the call-in program the KICK can't just imply they could be better in the same program, this might be a disaster. The other shows like how-to-live better might get more audiences' attention than the call-in program in the KICK radio station. So, the manager should research on the popularity of the other shows too to get a better comparision and result later.

Another exclusive question that needs to be answered right away is, Does the both station share the audience that have same taste-of-radio-programs? Well this can't be answered without any exhaustive research. The KICk manager should try to answer this question first then only can he be able to imply his positions. The audiences that loved call-in program in WCQP's might not be the same audiences that listen KICK radio station as a whole.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to dully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to increase their audience share by increasing the time of the show they air.