The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument suggests that in order to improve employees' productivity, the company should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. The argument makes a logical sense at first glance, however, there are some assumptions needed to be justified in order to warrantee the argument’s suggestion.

To begin with, the argument seems to believe that monitoring employees to force to be focus on work is beneficial to boost productivity. However, working without stopping may exhaust employee and it is believed that proper rest can boost efficiency. According to a statistic collected by the Economist, one of the most <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">authoritative </span>magazine, the stats suggests that moderate rest can boost efficiency in office by at least 30% and if employees are forced to perform well, their productivity tends to fall. Therefore, without further justification regarding monitoring employees can improve productivity, the suggestion remains specious.

Secondly, the argument seems to assume that employees appear to accept to be monitored. Generally, monitoring employees is considered illegal and it may result in a complicated lawsuit. Therefore, if a group of employees manage to fight back and charge the company for illegally invading privacy, not only will the productivity falls but also the company will lose money eventually. Does everyone in the company agree with such plan? We don’t know. Consequently, unless all the employees agree on this suggestion, the argument is unwarranted.

Finally, the argument appears to believe that implement electronic monitor to keep track of employees’ Internet usage can foster better working environment and bring a profit to the company. However, it preclude the cost of purchasing, installing and training employees to use such equipment. Such extra expense may burden the company’s financial situation.

To sum up, there are some assumptions needed to be answered to justify the argument’s suggestion. Such assumptions include: the correlation between non-stopping working and productivity, the credibility, feasibility of the monitoring policy and the cost of implementing the monitoring system.