The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president recommends monitoring employee’s internet usage to increase profit at Climpson. The vice president further supports his claim with a plan of installing software so that the management can get hold of the employee who are wasting time during their work works. The argument though appears a perfect plan at first glance is based on many gaps and unwarranted assumptions for which no substantial evidence is present. Hence, the argument is weak and fails to serve the purpose.

Firstly, the argument readily accepts the fact that the employees of Climpson are using the internet during the entire working hour; however, no proof of the same has been provided. Climpson might be a construction company where all the work takes place on-site and employees use the internet only for approving or submitting their designs and prototype. In this case, an employee absence on the internet can not be considered that the employee is not working. The result generated by the internet usage monitoring system will fail in the above case. If the vice-president had provided the working requirement in Climpson, it would have bolstered the plan further.

In addition to this, it seems that employees of Climpson have no issue in the company installing a software that captures their internet usage. The argument stated in this way again fails to furnish any verifiable proof. The employees might be looking at the proposal with disdain. The plan is a privacy breach of the employees and it is of utmost importance that the employees approve of this act before the software being installed onto their computer. If the employees do not agree with the rules it will lead to dissatisfaction among employees, which will further reduce their productivity. The vice president needs to be assured that there is an employee’s consent to this law.

Finally, the argument states that the employee internet usage will be monitored using software; whereas it is nowhere mentioned that the software has been previously tested and is bug-free. The software might be reporting distorted results for its users. To illustrate it is possible that the software captures wrongly and is set to always result in a shopping website in its result. These results might hamper the entire plan and it will result in the company making the wrong management decision. Climpson might punish its most hard-working employee which will lead to great resentment among the employee. Therefore, the company needs to first assure that the software is bug-free and a proper testing procedure needs to be followed.

To sum up, the vice president claims of making Climpson profitable by punishing employees who waste their time at the workplace can backfire if a more incisive research is not carried out. The argument needs to provide information regarding the kind of company they are and are the people willing to share their internet usage history. The argument also needs to make sure that the software is error and bug-free. Without answers to these questions, the plan is full of flaws and is not ready to be implemented at this stage.