We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care

The institute's policy to increase the duration of the course form half day to full day will not be benificial for the development of the kindergarteners

Firstly, dividing the students in two groups, namely average student group and low and high achieveing student group, is not a good step in the direction of their overall development. If a student has got a very good skill, he will only be able to shathe skill to the students of his or her group only and not the entire class. For example if a student is brilliant in playing guitar, only the members of his group will be able to learn the skill from him or her.

Secondly, teaching the same course material at a slower pace and providing instruction in music art and physical education after teaching the classroom course will exert extra load and pressure on minds of the kindergarteners. This will also make there schedule hectic and onerus. This will have adverse effects on mental and physical health of the children of such a small age group

Thirdly, it is not necessary that each and every child stays in the day care after school.Also, it is not necessary that the child gets a structured environment only at the kindergarten. There are chances that his or her parents are providing him or her with the same or even better environment than thae environment provided by the kindergarten.

Therefore, introducing full day in the place of half day will make the schedule of the kindergarteners tiresome and burdensome. Introducing this policy will also affect the healths of kindergarteners in a negative manner.

Hence the institute should restain itself from implementing such policies or should implement thepolicy on a trial basis.