Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness

Feeling happy does not depend on someones earlier encounters with real sadness. One can feel happy regardless of the fact that they were happy or sad in their lives before feeling this kind of happiness. Though there are some cases in which a person needs to know real sadness so that he or she can feel the true happiness, but those are a rare occurance

Firstly, it is not necessary that if a person has never known real sadness can never feel true happiness. For example, for a person to feel happy after scoring good marks in test, it is not necessary for a person to have experienced a failure earlier and has felt real sad due to that failure.

Secondly, there are some forms of happiness, which a person experiences for the first time in his or her life. For example, if one goes to a new, beautiful country and feels happy after experiencing the buolic beauty of that country, it is not necessary that he or she is feeling happy only because they have felt real sadness before coming to this trip.

Thirdly, are some forms of joys that does not depends on the fact that one has experienced sadness before or not. For example, if a person brings a pet dog to his or her house, feels happy after playing with the pet, it is not necessary that this happiness is experience only because he or she must have felt sad before in the life.

Therefore, it is not always the case, that if a person is feeling happy, he or she must have experience a great deal of sadness earlier in their lives.