only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness

In general, all the views about feelings such as sadness and happiness are relative. In other words, one has to know what is one feeling to get to know another. For instance, without knowing the sadness one can not know the difference between sadness and happiness. I can not completely agree for this statement that experienceing sadness before feeling the happiness but can agree to the fact that these two are realtive and both has to be experienced to get to know what they are really. In the following paragraphs, I will describe my stance with theory and palusible examples for better understanding.

Let us assume that, some individual is craving for something for a long time. Even after a hundered of attemps, he is not able to achieve it. He will be completely lost in sadness or despire. Suddenly, on someday he has achieved it. He will be so happy to get it as he is craving for it for long. And also, that happiness will get augmented by the victory after so many failures. Here, the happiness is because of the sadness created by failures by the attempts.

If a white paper written a reseacher after working hard on it for almost month gets rejected in a conference, the author will be lost in sadness. After resubmitting it, if it goes through the review process, since he knows the pain of rejection, he can actually enjoy the acceptance. Another example, If you are hungry and gets a food after suffering with hunger for a while then, you will appreciate it. On the other hand, if one is experiencing only success he can never appreciate it. If one the failure comes then he will really know the significance of the success.

Life will not be enjoyable if there is only happiness or only sadnees. Life should be composed of both or in other words, there has to be both ups and downs. Ups are referred as happy moments, downs are referred as sad moments. One has to experience both of them to really experience both of them to appreciate them.