In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. what are the changes occurring ? Do you think these changes are positive or negative ?

As per the current society there are two types of family structures namely, joint families and nuclear families. A typical joint family is composed of grand parents, parents, parents siblings and all children. On other hand, nuclear families are composed of only two parents and one or two children. I certainly agree that there has been this transition from joint to nuclear family because of various reasons which I am going to delineate in the following paragraphs. In addition to that, in most of the families male individuals generally earn and take care about the outside world and the female will take care of house-hold activities. Now a days, it is also apparent that there has been a lot of woman empowerment and the changes in the roles are clearly visible. I strongly believe that both of the aforesaid has a positive impact on the current society. Hence, I am taking a stance to support the changes.

Family structure changes can be happening because of various reasons. One can be financial burdens. It is a well known fact that the cost of living in a city is way more higher than a village. It is only possible to live in a city like Bangalore only if every elderly person in the family earns a decent amount of money. Another factor can be the wishes and goals. In a joint family there will be a lot of sacrifices and compromises in achieving goals which are not desired by any individual now a days. In recent times, people are trying to be independent and living their life in solitude. There are several other factors which force one family to become a nuclear family. However, there are some demerits associated in being a nuclear family like, emotional support, affections and relations etc. One should always be ready for the merits and demerits of family type which they are willing to be part of.

The roles of father and mother are changing as result of various reasons. Its no longer an age for any woman to sit at home and sacrifice her entire career for kitchen. There has been lot of opportunities for woman now a days in almost all industries. Woman going out into the outside world has two positive effects. One, the woman will understand the day-to-day hurdles that a man faces. Second, the man also understands the daily household problems that woman is facing. In a way, both will understand each other in a better way which helps them lead a happy life. It is impossible to know someone's problems until we are in their position. If you do not care about each other in a family then it will be impossible to create a happy family. As families are building blocks of society, the society also prospers if families prosper.

In short, society is made of families, if families are developed and happy then the society automatically achieves the same. In any family, the father should understand mother and vice versa, then only a happy family can be made.