In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring ? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

For each individual, one's family plays an important role. Basically, a child is a reflection of his/her own family. In recent years, the family structure has changed tremendously. In my opinion, the trend shifted from a joint family to a nuclear family which has affected the family values and has impacted the children the most.

Few decades ago, we could see the concept of joint family having grand parents and parents with children living together. The family values and ethics were taught to the children from their home itself. This helped children to learn their traditional values and know more about their culture. It rightly said that parents are always the first teacher and the basic learning starts from the home itself. Living in a closed knit family helps a child to learn, how to give respect to the elders and also helps to develop a bond with the other family members.

It teaches a child to adjust and grow themselves in a cooperative environment.

On the other side, in recent years, the concept of a nuclear family having mother,father and children is very popular and commonly seen. Children who are born and brought up in a nuclear family lacks in cooperating with other people. They find difficulty in bonding up with the outsiders. They tend to become self-centered and do not like to share their belongings. It is often seen that they are not so expressive with other family members, which eventually leads to less bond and affection towards elder members.

In the current generation where everybody is busy following dreams and ambitious for their careers, often tend to forget about giving their children, a lesson of the family values and ethics. Nuclear family members should always try to give and spend some quality time with their children that helps and individual to have a meaningful and valuable life.