"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

The president and the director of the alumnae association have opposing views on whether the all-female school should begin accepting male students. However, they both must answer the following question to make their arguments more convincing.

The president claims that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. But do Grove college have differences in other schools? If it is same to other schools which are coeducation, accepting male students indeed not only can enhance enrollment but also let students have chance to know how to communicate with males and females; but if it is a unique school which educates students who are afraid to male or their culture forbid them to meet with male students, it is not suitable for school to accept male students.

In contrast to the president, the director cites annual surveys and states that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college. An assumption here is that whether these “annual surveys” have credentials to adopt or not. However, the credentials of this annual survey are not presented. We rarely know about the number of data in this survey and how do these surveys carry out. If the data only 1 percent of incoming students, these surveys are not completely representativeness of students’ opinion, which may be most of the students are willing to accept male students to make their campus life have different experiences. And if the person who is responsible for these surveys just roughly collects the dataset when students can’t wait to end the class so that answer the question carelessly, its survey is not likely accurate.

Now turn to the survey of Grove alumnae that the majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female. However, they need to purpose some advantage of keeping the college all female. Due to the decline of the fertility rate, single-sex schools have decreased in order to resolve the decrease of enrollment. Moreover, many people have started to promote the advantage of coeducation such as more communication between boys and girls. Therefore, the alumnae of Grove have to propose some advantage to convince opponents to accept the concept of all-female.

Moreover, the directors only cite these surveys of incoming students and alumnae. But current students must be asked whether they regret choosing the all-female college. Also, the faculty of the school must be asked to see if they agree with changing the cherished tradition. Their opinions should definitely take into consideration, and not ignored in favor of the opinions of naïve college freshman or alumni who are not likely to visit the school again.

If the above recommendation can be absorbed by the president and the director, their arguments will be more convincing.