Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making friends with others is undoubtedly good behavior in our lifetime. People prefer to gather together to satisfy themselves and avoid being alone. Some people consider that keeping our old friends is more vital than making new friends. On the other hand, some people give a sheer statement. As in my view, I am apt to stand by the former.

First and foremost, when we pay more attention to sustain our relationship with our friends, they are more willing to help us when we encounter the difficulty. It is obvious that no one will willing to support a person who nearly does no interaction with them. No matter what types of communication with friends such as exercising together or chatting a whole night, all methods may consolidate our friendship. For instance, I have found my friends playing basketball every weekend not only enhance our relationship but also strengthen my body for a year. In this duration, although we had some conflict on basketball or daily communication, it did not damage our friendship. Therefore, when I was humiliated on the court for my basketball ability, he would not merely give a lesson with basketball skill to the man bullied me also assist me defending my dignity. I consider it is an important advantage of keeping our old friends.

Moreover, making new friends takes time to develop the friendship into a consolidated relationship. We often have no idea to new friends what are their hobbies or what are their natures. Thus, it takes plenty of time to realize them and find our common relation. People in modern society have already less time to enjoy their entertainment or release their pressure so that making new friends may have intangible stress in my life. For example, it still has less time for me to interact with new friends though I am still a student. Every time when I face a new person, I need to think that what should I talk about with him to avoid embarrassment. After that, I must keep in contact with him in some ways such as making an appointment with him for next time or sending messages to him discussing the current famous issue. Although I spent a lot of time with him, when I need help, he probably will not accompany me to cope the problem compared to my old friends.

In conclusion, combining with my own experience, I argue that it is more essential to keep our old friends.