Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea.The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author contends that earlier a particular types of woven baskets were believed to be made only by Palean people as it was found only in the immediate neighborhood of Palea .However, eventually with more discovery this type of basket was also found in the other region due to which the author asserts that the earlier view of this basket being made by only Palean people is wrong. In my opinion this assertion is based on incomplete information and some questionable facts.Following are the points I would put forth to bolster my opinion.

Firstly,as per the author the sample places that he has provided in the argument stem says that these baskets were found in immediate vicinty and another region which was right across the Brim river. In order to strengthen his argument that it is not uniquely Palean, he should have provided some evidence of a place which is really very far away from Paleans and cannot be reached by any means of commute.

Secondly, the argument also lacks the data where the time frame and geographic location should have been mentioned to understand whether boats were the only means to commute or they had a road connectivity as well to make the exchange of goods possible. Again,this information could support the author's view and be more persuasive.

Thirdly, the author has come to this conclusion by taking one point into consideration, which is, the only way to cross the deep and broad river was using a boat and no sign of the boats have not been found. In order to prove this claim as faulty I will create an analogy to the author's statement. Just as the author says that previously it was believed that these baskets were unique to Paleans but with more discovery they found it in Lithos as well .Similarly, there is a high possibility that currently archaeologists have not been able to find any boat but with an in depth investigation it could be found.

Hence, to conclude the evidence provided by the author are insufficient and challengeable in the mentioned aspects. Author should have done more research before placing his judgement as they are not convincing enough.