Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Archaeologists in the argument recently concludes that woven baskets with particular distinctive pattern have been made not only by Palean people, also by Lithos. archaeologists come to this conclusion based on the current status of the Brim River as well as no signals of boat existence in Palean. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, three specific evidence must be provided.

Firstly, archaeologists assume that the conditions of the Brim River has not changed by time. In other word, in the past, the Brim River was as much deep and broad as the current Brim River. However, it is possible that that river was very narrow and Palean people could easily walk cross it. As a result, Palean people could definitely bring those woven baskets to Lithos.

archaeologists must research and point out the status of the Brim River in the Palea period before going to make the conclusion.

Secondly, because of the very deep and broad river, people can only cross it by boat. However, no Palean boats have been found leads archaeologists to the conclusion that Lithos people made the baskets themselves. The conclusion based on that fact can not be convinced until the archaeologists prove that there is not any boat existing evidence in Lithos as well. Perhaps, Palean people moved to Lithos by boats and never went back. If it is true, the argument can be completely undermined.

Thirdly, archaeologists state woven baskets as only the common thing between Palean and Lithos and imply that interactions between two communities could not happen. However, archeologists must assert if woven baskets is only common stuff between Pelean and Lithos that they found before going to the conclusion. It might be that there are different similar stuffs in those places because they traded together. Thus, the possibility of woven baskets only made by Palean people could not be ruled out.

In conclusion, there are at least three specific evidence that archaeologists must claim to make their conclusion become reasonable.