Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

Several studies of avian species in Corgett Bird Sanctuary confirm a marked decline in the population of bird species observed there. In 1985 there were six avian species in the sanctuary and each species was represented by a large population of individuals. However, in 2005 only three species of birds were observed in the sanctuary, and the number of individuals of each species was very low. Some researchers have suggested that the decline was caused by the introduction in 1985 of the Malabar pit viper into the sanctuary. (Vipers are known to eat bird eggs.)

In the argument, the author concludes that due to introduction of Malabar pit viper into the sanctuary, the avain species has declined in numbers. The author comes to this conclusion based on the decline of avian species from six to three in 2005 since 1985. While the author's justification might ulimately prove correct, four alternative explainations must also be considered that might account for the observations in the prompt.

Firstly, the author states that several studies of avian species in sanctuary confirm the marked decline in the population of bird species, but how can the validity of studies be accounted for is questionable. It mentions that several studies were conducted, so the results were amalgated from different studies and we need to look for the veracity and value of the studies. The author needs to mention the sources of the studies in order to bolster his or her arguments.

Secondly, the author states that in 1985 there were six avian species and in 2005 there were only three left. Hence it is possible that the species have may migrated to other lands. They may have settled in the other places and hence decline cannot be accounted for species going extinct or being consumed by animals. The author must take into consideration species count from neighbouring areas or from areas where the population of avian species has increased and only then we can account for the decline in species in sanctuary.

Thirdly, the author states that the reason for decline could be due to introduction of Malbar pit viper, a snake which consumes birds as it's diet. Researches claim that due to introduction of viper the avian species have declined in number from six to three. But we also need to consider the existence of other species that may consumed the avian species as pat of their diet. In that case viper is not only the reason for decline for avian species birds.

Lastly, it is also possible of existence of a disease that may have spread among the avian species of the bird which may have led to their potential decline. The author of the argument need to consider this fact into account as well to bolster his or her argument.

To conclude, although it is possible that the author's prediction of decline may be true, the argument currently is not on sound footing due to it's reliance on four unwarranted assumptions. If the author would like to make the prompt more persuasive, he or she must address the four assumptions by providing the most pertinent evidence.