"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemploymen rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades.

The author uses a report to undermine a negative influence caused by corporate downsizing that those fired workers usually take years finding other suitable job, asserting that those intriguing statistical numbers are not nebulous in all cases. While the report on Elthyrian economy could noy be viewed as flawed downright, the author's assumptions concerning data given in it are tenuous and rife with holes.

Firstly, the author begins with a statement that, according to statistics from 1999 to the present indicating far more job titles were created in that span, the claim that fired workers are hard to find jobs is unfounded. Here, the author makes some unconvincing assumptions about the result of that report. The first is assuming these data is specific enough to analyze a concrete situation. A ten-year span is too long to explain a specific problem in that it could easily be influenced by extreme numbers, for example, if the first three years' number were huge enough and the decreasing trend of the last seven years is tiny enough, we could not recognize a dwindling trend just from a total span statistic, because it is macro. Moreover, such a long-term data is lagging too, just like human's birthrate. On condition that we just look at it of China for past ten years, we must be shocked by the increasing birthrate, in fact, Chinese government has noticed that young couple's willingness of birthing will be at the lowest point unprecedently. So the author fails to recognize some small aspects of those information and to take further trend into account. In addition to it, the writer also avers the unemployment rate is the lowest means the fewest people are in unemployment condition. Here, the writer could not figure out the differences between rate and number, the former one might be affected by the total number on which it based, which means, even the rate becomes smaller, if the total number burgeons, people who are unemployed, on contrary, are standing at high.

Secondly, what is discussing now is that the author indicate more than a half of these newly emerged job positions pay above-average salary to workers, and almost of them are full-time. However, no clues within such argument show the connection of explaining the gap years for fired people to find jobs, or even, on contrary, it brings some possible rationales to make people feel that long gap years for workers are reasonable, in that higher salary is wanted for everyone, including workers not unemployed but competent, making the situation more severe, for few companies would recruit a fired employee while giving up a competent person. Another possibility challenging the author's argument is that, how many jobs are suitable for those downsized workers are there in such two-thirds higher payment jobs and such majority full-time jobs? What if comparable jobs are in another one-third or are part-time? Hence, just relying on relatively correct but specifically vague data is not a precise option to support the author's idea, hence, citing more concrete statistic may be more convincing.

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. So the writer should abandon a way of citing macro economy numbers and fixate on something specific